Ukranian Catholic University: History, Location, Campus Life



The University of Lviv is located in Ukraine, which is part of Europe.



It is a Catholic institution and offers degrees in theology, philosophy, law, medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, economics, engineering, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, psychology, history, geography, pedagogy, journalism, political science, sociology, international relations, linguistics, literature, philology, and many others.





Ukranian Catholic University was founded by the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church in Lviv in








Ukranian Catholic University





1. Ukraine Catholic University (UCU) was established in Kyiv in 1869. In its early years, UCU was known as the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. In 1920, it became a state institution. In 1992, the name was changed to Ukrainian Catholic University.




2. The first rector of UCU was Archbishop Myroslav Ivan Lubachivsky. He was appointed in 1869. His successor was Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky.



3. The current Rector of UCU is Bishop Volodymyr Kondratyuk.



4. The university has three faculties: theology, philosophy, and law.



5. There are four departments in the Faculty of Philosophy: Logic and Theory of Science, History of Philosophy, Ethics, and Political Sciences.


6. The Department of Law at UCU offers courses in civil law, criminal law, international law, public administration, and private law.



7. The Department of Theology offers courses in dogmatic theology, moral theology, pastoral theology, liturgical theology, and canon law.



8. The Department of Philosophy offers courses in logic, theory of science, history of philosophy, ethics, political sciences, and aesthetics.



9. The Department of Law offers courses in civil law and criminal law.



10. The Department of Theological Studies offers courses in dogmatic and pastoral theology.



11. The Department of Philosophy and Psychology offers courses in logic, epistemology, psychology, linguistics, and pedagogy.



12. The Department of Theoretical Physics offers courses in theoretical physics, mathematical physics, cosmology, and astrophysics.



13. The Department of Mathematics offers courses in algebra, geometry, trigonometry, calculus, probability theory, statistics, and numerical analysis.



14. The Department of Computer Science offers courses in computer science, information technology, programming languages, databases, and web design.